ECTS grading scale

ECTS grading scale - Local grading scale



What is ECTS?


   The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System is a student-centred system based on the student workload required to achieve the objectives of a programme, objectives preferably specified in terms of the learning outcomes and competences to be acquired.


What are the key features of ECTS?


   ECTS is based on the principle that 60 credits measure the workload of a full-time student during one academic year. The student workload of a full-time study programme in Europe amounts in most cases to around 1500-1800 hours per year and in those cases one credit stands for around 25 to 30 working hours.


   Credits in ECTS can only be obtained after successful completion of the work required and appropriate assessment of the learning outcomes achieved. Learning outcomes are sets of competences, expressing what the student will know, understand, or be able to do after completion of a process of learning, long or short.


   Student workload in ECTS consists of the time required to complete all planned learning activities such as attending lectures, seminars, independent and private study, preparation of projects, and examinations.


   Credits are allocated to all educational components of a study programme (such as modules, courses, placements, dissertation work, etc.) and reflect the quantity of work each component requires to achieve its specific objectives or learning outcomes in relation to the total quantity of work necessary to complete a full year of study successfully.


   The performance of the student is documented by a local/national grade. It is standard practice to add an ECTS grade, in particular in the case of credit transfer. The ECTS grading scale ranks the students on a statistical basis. Therefore, statistical data on student performance is a prerequisite for applying the ECTS grading system. Grades are assigned among students with a passing grade as follows :

  • A - best - 10%
  • B - next - 25%
  • C - next - 30%
  • D - next - 25%
  • E - next - 10%

A distinction is made between the grades FX and F that are used for unsuccessful students. FX means: "fail - some more work required to pass" and F means: "fail- considerable further work required".


Which grade will I obtain ?


As the Bologna process is currently being set up in Nîmes, you will have a local grade.

  • 18-20 = EXCEPTIONAL
  • 15-17 = EXCELLENT - Outstanding performance
  • 13-14 = VERY GOOD - Above average standard
  • 12 = GOOD - Good work
  • 11 = SATISFACTORY - Satisfactory
  • 10 = SUFFICIENT - Performance meets minimum criteria
  • 8 = FAIL

Your transcript  will mention the local grade and the ECTS credits obtained.

Published the